A year of shifting spaces

Leave a comment
Seriously random shit

I often find it trite and a wee bit cringeable when people do a retrospective on “the year that was” or do a countdown of “the top” whatever for the year. Yet here I am at the beginning of 2017, struck down with food poisoning, bored out of my head without anything much to do except reflect on the year that was. But whether this bout of sentimentality is caused by salmonella or not, I think it was a year worth writing about anyway.

2016 was totally manic, hence this blog’s radio silence. It was the year where I found using the phrase “for the first time in my life” quite a lot. Whether it was as momentous as leaving my full-time job of 8 years to become a lecturer at design school or as small as discovering the joys of using the audio guide to explore the national gallery, the year that passed was a time of shifting places, spaces, experiences and perspectives. As each change came along, I took them on with the reckless bravado of Han Solo and the forward planning skills of a headless chicken. I pretended to know exactly what I was doing.

So how does one cope when an overwhelming amount of things happen in a seemingly short amount of time? By doing a visualisation, of course! Each section in this info graphic represents a shift in:

01: Physical space
02: Head space
03: Familiar people (occupying a different space in my life)
04: Familiar spaces (looking at them differently)
05: The body
06: Responsibilities

The biggest irony of it all is that despite all this change, I never left Victoria in 2016. Staying put has never been my forte and the husband summarised my lack of travel aptly as “Tragic.”

So as I feel my stomach churn and feel vomit number 498 come on, I purge the last bits of mania out of my system and say, “Let’s do this, 2017… let’s have a really boring year!”

***
Typeset in Circular by Lineto

shiftingspaces

Leave a Reply

