List 011: Typefaces I love

comment 1
Design

1) Sentinel: Versatile with a friendly, well-grounded personality.

 

2) Matrix II OT Italic: Love the elegant little curves on this one.

 

3) Georgia: Even if this was designed by evil Microsoft, it’s still my favourite on-screen typeface.

 

4) Bembo: A rock solid typeface that every book designer must have.

 

5) Architype Van Doesberg: An anal piece of work (and naturally, right up my alley). Each stroke is exactly the same width and each letter occupies the same amount of space. Beauty!

 

6) Baskerville italic: If Audrey Hepburn were a font, she would be the understatedly elegant Baskerville italic.

 

7) Clarendon: Started using this at uni and has stuck ever since. Bold, unpretentious and straightforward.

 

8 ) Caecilia: I almost always use this with Clarendon. I’m a slab serif kida girl.

 

9) New Alphabet: Now THIS is snobbery at its finest. Who cares if I’m not legible? I’m beautiful and that’s all that matters.

 

10) Pistili Roman: Flamboyance isn’t normally my thing, but with a gorgeous ampersand and lower case f, I decided that a bit of flair is my thing afterall!

 

11) Plastica: Reminiscent of my doodles in high-school where I’d sketch drop shadows on every piece of type that would catch my interest. Negative space is beautiful.

 

12) Akzidenz Grotesque Light Condensed: Compact. Composed. Careful.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

