List 007: Where to have brunch

Leave a comment
Food

I am officially a morning person. Gone are the days of hopping from bar to bar, spending hours trying to have a conversation about the weather over the DOOF-DOOF-DOOF of distasteful music, pretending to listen to someone you barely know talk about their nails over a $16 drink of South American something. I have since found an activity that not only gives my poor liver a break but also greatly satisfies my now largely anti-social lifestyle: having breakfast by myself, or with my “bitter half”, who is possibly the only person more reclusive than me. Moments of early morning epicurean bliss have been had at:

1) North: Rathdowne Villge, Carlton
Nothing beats a generous plate of Huevos Rancheros and dandelion latte to start the day.
My Rating: 9/10

2) Min Lokal: George St., Fitzroy
Where I get my lazy Saturday chai and GF toast with tahini and honey. Uncomfortable seats though.
My Rating: 8/10

3) Seven  Seeds: Berkley St., Carlton
Thanks to my frequent appointments with the hand therapist, this has become my favourite place to enjoy a sardine sandwich and almond crescent to shake off that disgusting hospital vibe.
My rating: 9/10

4) Babka: Brunswick St, Fitzroy
Who says you can’t have sticky date pudding for breakfast?!
My rating: 7/10

5) The Veggie Bar: Brunswick St, Fitzroy
I normally hate this place because it’s too loud (reminiscent of the night owl days) and a few of their staff are complete tossers. But they’ve got a kick ass brekkie with avocado and capers. Forgiveth the tossers for they giveth a blessed morning meal.
My rating: 7/10

6) Birdman Eating: Gertrude St, Fitzroy
Coconut quinoa porridge… Yummmmm!
My rating: 9/10

7) Cibi: Keelle St, Collingwood
Japanese design store + breakfast: my two favourite things combined.
My rating: 7/10

8 ) Ici: Napier St, Fitzroy
A great place to sip rooibos chai and slowly munch on the asparagus and rocket brekkie while people-watching through the window. Too many yoga people there for my liking though.
My rating: 8/10

9) Via Volare: Brunswick St, Fitzroy
E’s second home. Apparently the coffee is amazing. Not a bad stop for GF toast and avocado.
My rating: 7/10

10) Invita: Queen Victoria Market, CBD
The only place I can find that serve chai with rice milk. Lentil shepherd’s pie with sweet potato is a winner.
My rating: 9/10

11) A Simple Affair: Bay Street, Port Melbourne
It’s very easy to have an affair with their fresh juices, hearty soups and quinoa salads.
My rating: 9/10

12) St Ali: Yarra Place, South Melbourne
It’s hard to find a place that serves good coffee AND good food but this place is it.
My rating: 10/10

13) Shire: Victoria St, Fitzroy
Good, healthy food but service is slower than a hobbit trying to climb Mount Doom.
My rating: 6/10

14) Sonido: Gertrude St, Fitzroy
Arrepa! Arrepa! Gluten-free stuff that I can eat! And with two graphic designers running the place, the vintage Colombian-inspired interiors are funky too. Design + food… how can you beat that?
My rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

