List 001: 2010 MIFF Films

Leave a comment
The husband

1) The Trotsky
E and I decided to purchase mini passes to the Melbourne International Film Fest this year and first order of business was a Canadian flick called The Trotsky. With a lead character convinced he’s the reincarnation of Leon Trotsky, how can this movie not be funny?

My rating: 8/10

2) Black Bus
A disturbing insight into the the plight of ultra-orthodox Jewish women in Israel.

My Rating: 7/10

3) The Oath
Excellent documentary on Osama Bin Laden’s Yemeni body guard-turned taxi driver. Not everything is as it seems!

My rating: 9/10

4) The Reluctant Infidel
A Pakistani Shi’ite born and bred in England, Mahmoud discovers that not only is he adopted, but he’s Jewish as well! A pretty lame movie overall with an even-worse-than-Disney ending, but it had its moments of comedic brilliance.

My rating: 4/10

5) The Blacks
An uncompromisingly bleak film about the self-destruction of a Croatian paramilitaty death squad at the end of the Bosnian war.Cleverly crafted and intelligent, but certainly not something to watch for light-hearted entertainment.

My rating: 7/10

6) I Killed My Mother

A French-Canadian comedy/drama about proverbial teenage angst. Scenes swing between savage fury and melting affection between mother and son, making the film something that everyone can relate to.

My rating: 7/10

7) La Danse: The Paris Opera Ballet
A must-see for anyone interested in human movement!

My rating: 9/10

8 ) Cooking History
A tongue-in-cheek doco on cooks that served in the military during modern European wars—from Yugoslavia to Algeria, Czechoslovakia to Hungary. Includes gruesome images of animal slaughter. Thank god I don’t eat meat.

My rating: 9/10

9) Lourdes
Despite having become a farcical tourist destination, this quiet comedy shows that miracles can still happen in Lourdes.

My rating: 8/10

10) The Autobiography of Nicolae Ceausescu
What an awful way to end the film fest: 180 minutes of mind-numbingly boring “home video” footage. I went into the movie knowing that he was a Romanian communist dictator and left knowing that he was a Romanian communist dictator who played volleyball. Definitely the last time I’m going to see an autobiography.

My rating: 1/10 (1 goes to the superb footage of the North Korean’s synchronised dance/theatrical production to welcome Ceausescu on an official visit)

Leave a Reply

